Saturday, 12 May 2007

Lords V Commons 2007

The annual Lords v Commons match took place on Friday 11th May at Crockfords Club in Mayfair. Click here for a photo gallery.

This was the 33rd match of the series (started in 1975) and a resounding win by the Lords has put them ahead 17 - 16.

A sound start by the Commons put them 1480 ahead after the first stanza but this soon disappeared as the Lords hit back with +2460 to lead by 980 at lunch. Another +2460 in the third stanza put the Lords well ahead and they followed this with +1380 to win the match by 4820.

Michael Phillips of London Export Ltd (the sponsors) presented the Jack Perry Trophy to the winning captain, Lord Skelmersdale.

Lord May and Lady Henig had the best card for the winners with a score of +2295 against par. The best performers for the losing side were John Marek and Bridget Prentice.

The adjudication of the best played hand was made by Andrew Robson and he awarded the Anthony Berry Memorial Trophy to Lord Caithness.

Many thanks are due to Stephen Perry of London Export for the sponsorship and to Crockfords Club for hosting the day.

Peter Jordan (EBU)