Monday 17 August 2009

John Armstrong Memorial Award - Winner

Several nominations were made for this new award, for people who play the game in the spirit of John Armstrong, and they were as follows:

Bob Blackmore (Devon)
Michelle Brunner (Manchester)
Simon Cochemé (London)
Peter Crouch (Kent)
Jonathan Davis (London)
Bernard Goldenfield (Manchester)
Mathew Hoskins (Sussex)
Don Smedley (Derby)
John Reavy (Derby)

The EBU endorses this award in John’s name. It has been instigated, organised, and judged by Danny Davies, John Holland, Graham Kirby, Jack Mizel and Paul Hackett.

Bob Blackmore was announced as the winner of the first award yesterday by the EBU’s Chairman, Sally Bugden. Two trees will be planted at Heritage Wood, Derbyshire: one in memory of John and the other in Bob’s name.

Sally Bugden, Chairman of the EBU, congratulates Bob Blackmore

Bob Blackmore: Helen Foster writes, “Much of Exeter Bridge Club’s success is attributed to Bob. A Grand Master, he partners players of any standard on a club evening and will encourage partner throughout, never failing to point out his own mistakes. His services to Devon are much appreciated, and the club bridge room was named after him.”