Saturday, 11 November 2006

Dimmie Fleming Awards 2006

Pictured from left:
Gladys Gittins, Michael Hill, Denis Robson (EBU Chairman), Robbie Roberson & May Langmaid

The intent of the Dimmie Fleming award is to publicly recognise those people who do not hold an official (i.e. EBU) office, but have, for a long time - say, 20 years or so - worked hard for bridge, usually at County and/or Club level. Board Directors, Vice Presidents, EBU employees and Panel Tournament Directors are excluded from nomination. However, after holding office, such people are eligible for an award, but it should not be given just for service in that capacity.

Nominations are made in writing and a panel of 'judges' then decides whether they are eligible for such an award. All nominations should state that the approval of the County Committee has been obtained.There are no restrictions on the number of nominees made by a County in any one year.

This year the following people received Dimmie Fleming Awards:
Gladys Gittins (Cambs & Hunts)

Hector Barker (Lancashire)

Michael Hill (London)

Robbie Roberson (Norfolk)

May Langmaid (Sussex)

Everyone, with the exception of Hector Barker, received their award at the AGM. Hector is to be presented with his award at a later date.