Sunday, 17 October 2010

Under 21s win World Silver

The U21s have won silver at the World Championships in Philadelphia. Congratulations to Tom Paske, Graeme Robertson, Shivam Shah, James Paul, Tom Rainforth and Dan McIntosh with captain Michael Byrne and coach Alan Shillitoe. They lost to Poland in the final.
Read Alan's account of the event on the Selex Blog.

Earlier, the Hackett team (Paul Hackett, John Holland, Gunnar Hallberg and Americans Reese Milner and Garey Hayden) won gold in the Seniors event.
World Bridge Series

Thursday, 7 October 2010

Dimmie Fleming Awards, 2010

The English Bridge Union is proud to announce that the following people have been awarded the prestigious Dimmie Fleming award for services to bridge. The awards are made specifically to publicly recognise those who have worked hard promoting bridge locally at County and Club level. This is a momentous occasion, because we have ten winners this year!

The winners for 2010 are:
David & Anne Gilling, Bedfordshire
Dave Harrison, Cambs & Hunts
Geoff Bell, Cumbria
Anne Swannell, Gloucestershire
Derek Rue, Gloucestershire
Mike Minting, Hertfordshire
Bill McCarthy, Oxfordshire
Peter Langston, Sussex
Ted Bond, Yorkshire

Congratulations to all of them.

Photos of this years winners
About the Award
Who was Dimme Fleming?
Past winners

AGM Results

As members may know, the Annual General Meeting of the English Bridge Union took place yesterday (Wednesday 6 October) in London.

Election of Directors
Eight positions are now subject to election each year since the Article changes passed by the shareholders on 1 July 2010. Eight candidates were nominated and agreed to stand. All were elected.

Directors Elected:
Sally Bugden
Heather Dhondy
Jeremy Dhondy
Suzanne Gill
Michael Hill
Graham Jepson
Malcolm Oliver
Andrew Petrie

Thanks were given by the Chairman to retiring members: Alan Nelson, Jeff Morris and Martin Pool for all their work over the years whilst on the Board.

There being no other candidates for the roles, the following remained in their positions:

Chairman - Sally Bugden
Vice Chairman - Andrew Petrie
Treasurer - Michael Hill

Laws & Ethics Committee
Three nominations were received for the three vacancies and thus there was no need for an election:
Frances Hinden
Neil Morley
Tim Rees

Miss Hinden and Mr Morley will be re-elected, and Mr Rees elected, for a three-year term of office expiring in 2013.

Tournament Committee
Three nominations were received, for three places, so no election required:
Margaret Curtis
Philip Mason
Andrew Petrie

Mrs Curtis, Mr Mason and Mr Petrie will be re-elected for a further three-year term of office expiring in 2013.

Selection Committee
Two nominations were received, for two places, so no election required:
Heather Dhondy
Paul Hackett

Mrs Dhondy and Mr Hackett will be re-elected for a further three-year term of office expiring in 2013.